My Venture into Micro 4/3rd Territory

The Streets

For a long while I never gave it a second thought..

Never thought about reading all of the reviews..or taking it as a serious medium

Micro Four Thirds technology seemed ok and I know a lot of photographers use it from time to time, but for some reason I saw it as just something that was shot on the side in between serious work

It’s totally my fault that I neglected these cameras/lenses/sensors and I’m glad I took the time to take a second look

Especially since I’ve now fallen in love with a certain camera (will speak on this later) with it’s familiar design and functionality

Aside from what I was viewing from the technology on forums and videos, the prices i was seeing on the net were INSANE especially when coming from full frame

There are countless articles and videos out there comparing the performance and prices between Micro 4/3, APS-C and Full Frame digital photography

Lots of people on both sides with pros and cons, it’s similar to the film vs digital argument

So many opinions and data, I find this type of geeky stuff interesting though haha

Before i continue, If you’re a little confused as to what “Micro 4/3rds” is exactly, here is a brief explanation:

The Micro Four Thirds system (MFT) is a standard created by Olympus and Panasonic, and announced on August 5, 2008,[1] for the design and development of mirrorless interchangeable lens digital cameras, camcorders and lenses.

The image sensor of Four Thirds and MFT is commonly referred to as a 4/3″ type or 4/3 type sensor (inch-based sizing system is derived from now obsolete video camera tubes). The sensor measures 18 mm × 13.5 mm (22.5 mm diagonal), with an imaging area of 17.3 mm × 13.0 mm (21.6 mm diagonal), comparable to the frame size of 110 film.[5] Its area, ca. 220 mm², is approximately 30% less than the quasi-APS-C sensors used in other manufacturers’ DSLRs, yet is around 9 times larger than the 1/2.5″ sensors typically used in compact digital cameras.

Music-Concert-Camera-Recommendations-for-Digital-Photography-Sensor-Size-Comparison-Full-Frame-APS-C-Micro-Four-Thirds-1-Inch

Comparison of Sensor Sizes

When I first decided I was going to give this a try, I immediately looked at specs and searched for what would be best for low light..and speed

I also wanted pocket sized (I may have a bigger pocket than most) and a cam that looked good visually

After much research and reading, I chose the Olympus EPL-5

The Olympus EPL5 with Flash Unit attached as well as the Olympus 45mm F1.8


A view of how the camera compares in size to my hand

I have no bad words for the camera function-wise..as far as what i cared about It did what it said it would:

  1. Snappy autofocus
  2. Acceptable low light performance up to 6400 (in my experience)
  3. Small and pocket-able (check pics)
  4. Selfie screen rotation (which i thought was cool if/when i choose to shoot vids)
  5. Good RAW files
  6. Great image quality
  7. Micro 4/3rd Lens Mount compatible with Olympus, Panasonic lens, etc..

There are a bunch of other reasons but this was mostly what I was looking for when i purchased

Coupled with the AMAZING Olympus 45mm f1.8 lens I had some fun with this camera but…I couldn’t shake one thing..which i didn’t know mattered until it was not there….a viewfinder

It really does make a difference, once it wasn’t on the camera i realized how much it assists in my framing and maybe i feel somewhat more secure(?) with it present in my camera

It was a quick decision on what to do next..

That decision being to trade it in for another camera that has something more along the lines of what i was looking for

I headed over to Adorama and one of the amazing technicians there put this in my hands..

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7

This camera is AWESOME

No really, it really is

Viewfinder: beautiful
Interface: awesome
Customization: easy
Button placement: right on
Rangefinder style: my cup of tea

Here is some tech info on the camera, in case you are interested:

16MP Digital Live MOS Sensor
Venus Engine Image Processor
Micro Four Thirds System
3.0″ 1,040k-Dot Tilting Touchscreen LCD
90° Tilting 2,764k-Dot EVF
Full HD 1080p AVCHD Video at 60 fps
MEGA O.I.S. In-Body Image Stabilization
Built-In Wireless and NFC Connectivity
Focus Peaking and Magnification Windows
Magnesium Alloy Body Construction

Ok, so yes again, don’t just take my word for it

There are probably numerous counter articles stating how poor the image quality is, how the menu is confusing or whatever, bla bla bla..

I can just tell you of my experience with the camera.

Actually, instead of just me telling you, let me show you some of the shots taken with this camera.

I’d just like to quickly say, i would be doing a disservice to everyone if i didn’t mention the great lens selection for the Micro 4/3rd system mount

The lenses used in these images were taken with the Olympus 45mm F1.8 and 75mm F1.8

Super sharp and compact GEMS of photographic tech

Seriously the glass for these cameras is very, very good

23246082314_ee91e8adcf_k

Haven’t seen the Guardian Angels in years!

23246094934_3d5cb760d9_k

23247441443_48f0c7044d_k

23411020790_eafd25db40_k

23502608770_fe9f0d4db1_k

23578520210_71d6dc7b6d_k

23758783085_025b4d9a93_k

23798305395_7f871654e6_k

23874270065_f108ef3bf6_k

I should’ve known better, especially since i shoot film primarily.
Most of my time is spent shooting a medium thought LONG dead and not worth getting into because it’s too troublesome to be worth anything

I’m happy that I have now

For all of you who are out there thinking of taking a trip into Micro 4/3rd world like i did, i recommend it big time

These images are my first with this type of set up but I’m really enjoying it and WOW IS THE AUTOFOCUS QUICK!

Feel free to comment with your own experiences

Thanks for the checking out the post everyone and ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

