Kodak Portra 400 vs. Fujifilm Superia 400? Not really..

The Streets

Hello Everyone,

You’ve probably read in previous articles how essential organized events like protests and concerts are for me in training myself for street photography and handling of different situations that may pop up.

Recently, i was invited to attend an event, not really a protest but more of a festival, called the Indigenous Day of Celebration.

This particular event was to inform and celebrate the culture of the hundreds of thousands of the Native Americans Christopher Columbus murdered, enslaved, raped and pillaged when he supposedly “discovered” the Americas.

Not to get into that topic too much, I’d like to speak on the equipment used during my time there.

I decided on using my Nikon F100 with C41 film due to the fact i knew that there was going to be many different types of colors and shades.

I wanted them to be represented properly within the photos (even though i converted some to black and white! But we’ll get to that later haha )

So before i left my apartment and headed over to the event, i decided i wanted to try an experiment…

I had 3 rolls of Kodak Portra 400 in the fridge I’ve been meaning to use, but i also already had a book bag with 4-6 rolls of Fuji film Superia 400 at that very moment.

Everyone knows my favorite color film right now is Superia, i just really am satisfied with the results i get from this film and in some ways i think it’s underrated, especially for the price!

I began to think..i want to put these two head to head and see how well Superia performs against the titan known as Portra..

But then.., i remembered why i love film so much 🙂

It’s not a competition for me, it’s a ways of expression.

Which angles should i plan so i can get the expressions correct?

Wide Lens or Zoom? Should i try some long exposure tricks?

I should try slowing shutter down for smaller aperture focus zone?

Should I even care about the film I have in camera?

These are the questions that go through my head when I’m doing this

I then started to think about some of my favorite film photographers and how i noticed that their works are amazing even with the cheapest/most boring of color films!

I’ve seen some amazing work done with Kodak Gold 200, which many pros believe is the amateur level of film stocks.

I soon came to the realization: I’m just going to go out and shoot. I’m going to grab those 3 rolls of Portra and the rolls of Superia and just going to shoot. Forget which ones which, i’ll look at the results later afterwards and just pick the shots i like from either film

So without further wait, I’d like to share these results with you

Do you think you could pick out the ones shot with Portra, and the ones shot with Superia? If not, i hope you enjoy the photos anyway

21483303813_e61b77a4f7_k

21483308503_cfb3677b48_k

21916263260_506d17b210_k

22091917362_68f342d32f_k

22104440265_0699c2ca4f_k

Recognize her? She is Jim Henson’s daughter 🙂 Famed creator of the Muppets. She’s an activist, who supports many Native American movements in the U.S.

22114498711_245645b6c0_k

22114500871_27f3259cf1_k

22114502011_f4c431c638_k

22114504031_0cfbc087f3_k

I think i learned a lesson here in a way..

Put less focus on what you are using, and put more focus on being there..to shoot, to capture and get the work done.

You’ll be satisfied with the results, just trust yourself and know you can get the shots.

Everything else with fall in place

With that being said, I’m very happy with the results and many people from the event were also satisfied

Thanks for visiting the blog and feel free to ask questions as always!

P.S.

I know which one’s which, do you? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Kodak Portra 400 vs. Fujifilm Superia 400? Not really..

  1. I’m not all that acquainted with the look of Nikon glass or Kodak Portra in general, but I’d say 1, 3, 7, 9 and possibly 2 are Superia. I’m a big fan of Superia myself and consumer film in general, I’ve heard (and seen) such good things with Kodak Gold 200, so I’m waiting for my chance to give that a try as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

