The Voigtlander Nokton 50mm F1.5 VM Lens

featured, Film, Project, The Streets

Every Leica shooter (or M mount rangefinder shooter) often dreams of getting their hands on one of those Summilux or Noctilux lenses to put on their camera.

They are of the finest craftsmanship and are legendary for performance and durability. People literally spend insane amounts of money to get one, or even a couple!

Like this will all of a sudden put you in the league of Henri Cartier Bresson or Gary Winogrand or any of those Leica greats we often read about and study

I have even found myself trying to justify selling a limb or every thing I cherish to purchase one lol..

Well after coming to my senses, and some failed attempts at selling an organ, I soon realized it really isn’t the gear that makes one a great photographer.

It’s what you can do with the gear available to you (just check out my previous post about the group called the Tiny Collective, their work is amazing)

Instead of trying so hard and wasting precious money and shooting time tryin to get one of those super expensive lenses, I chose to go with one of the alternatives…which is still a truly GREAT lens.

The Voigtlander 50mm Nokton F1.5 VM (M mount) is not made by Leica, which by no means says that you can’t create amazing work with it

Voigtlander, Canon and Zeiss have some amazing Rangefinder lenses out there

Here is also a quick review by Steve Huff about how great this lens is, especially at its price point

The first thing I did upon purchase was put it on my M6 and hit the streets to test it out!

2015/01/img_5732.jpg

2015/01/img_5730.jpg

2015/01/img_5731.jpg

2015/01/img_5734.jpg

2015/01/img_5735.jpg

2015/01/img_5736.jpg

I found this lens to be exceptionally sharp and contrasty where I needed it to be. I was truly impressed by its look and feel..especially coupled with one of my favorite films right now, Fujifilm Superia 400

2015/01/img_5737.jpg

2015/01/img_5738.jpg

2015/01/img_5739.jpg

2015/01/img_5740.jpg

2015/01/img_5741.jpg

2015/01/img_5742.jpg

I’m sure I’m just one of many that have spoken about this lens but in my humble opinion, the Voigtlander Nokton 50mm is an amazing performer and I’ll definitely be using a whole hell of a lot

The way it renders colors are great, can’t wait to run B&W rolls through this combo as well

I highly recommend it to those who want a great 50mm M mount lens that won’t kill your bank account.

I’d love to own one of those high end Leica lenses but honestly, I can’t justify spending that much money on one lens..especially when there are others like this one out

If you have the money and can afford it, go for it and purchase one of those lenses but never lose sight of the fact that it isn’t the lens (or camera) taking the picture, it’s the person holding it

2015/01/img_5743.jpg

Thanks for checking out the post everyone

PEACE!

P.S.

It’s also amazing on the Sony A7II with M Mount adapter 😉

2 thoughts on “The Voigtlander Nokton 50mm F1.5 VM Lens

Leave a Reply

