The Nikon F3 and the Georgia Guidestones

Film, Project

Hey everybody,

I know this is kind of a weird title for a post but as we all know “every photo has a story” or at least in my opinion they should

I read a lot..no seriously like ALOT, even on my smartphone or computer I’m always reading up on something

Ok maybe not like on a scholarly level of in depth endless reading but I definitely spend a good part of every day within the texts of things I’m interested in learning more about.

I’ve got books on religion, ancient folklore, aliens, conspiracy theories, history, photography, sports, comic books and a bunch of other such subjects.

A while back throughout my reading and study, I came across some stories about a mysterious set of stones that together made a structure called the Georgia Guidestones.

Each stone pillar had text in varying languages on it describing supposed “guidelines” for a better future of humanity

While I searched for more info on the stones there really wasn’t too much available, but since then many people have written about them and visited. Entire articles with images have been written

Here is one such article written by Vigilant Citizen:

Sinister Sites: The Georgia Guidestones

A couple years ago I was lucky enough to have an opportunity to take a trip down to Georgia and see them with my own eyes.

Aside from the excitement of being able to witness these “Guidestones” I couldn’t help but wonder which camera to bring.

At the time I had the Canon T5i, the Nikon D7100, the Canon A1 and Nikon F3…how’s that for Gear Acquisition Syndrome huh lol…I’ve since thinned out my gear a bit

I had just recently purchased the Nikon F3 off a couple in TriBeCa NYC and I really wanted to put it to the test..I also was kind of still trying to find my film development technique.

During those times, I shot Ilford HP5 and developed with Ilford DDX 1:4. Not sure if my dilution measurements were correct or not…but my results didn’t always come back like I wanted..even though I’ve seen amazing results from this combo from others

I decided to take the Nikon F3 on my trip because I just dreamed of how great the shots would be on film and I really wanted to give it a chance to prove its worth to me…or my worth to it

(funny how bringing digital didn’t even cross my mind huh lol…both those cameras were sold shortly after this trip. They’re both amazing cameras tho!)

As always, I’d like to share some of those shots I took on this day when I got to see them for myself

Keep in mind these are not my best shots…or my best development technique but..I can’t help but love them.

I love the grain, the feel and the view of what I captured that day

They’ll always remind me of the amazing time I had in Georgia, as well as how glad I was that I brought the F3 with me

2015/01/img_5608.jpg

2015/01/img_5606.jpg

2015/01/img_5607.jpg

2015/01/img_5603.jpg

2015/01/img_5609.jpg

2015/01/img_5611.jpg

2015/01/img_5610.jpg

2015/01/img_5612.jpg

2015/01/img_5602.jpg

As you can tell, I was just learning how to properly scan film also.

I was getting weird output from my old Plustek 8100i (I really should rescan these actually)

2015/01/img_5615.jpg

2015/01/img_5614.jpg

2015/01/img_5616.jpg

2015/01/img_5617.jpg

2015/01/img_5619.jpg

2015/01/img_5618.jpg

2015/01/img_5620.jpg

They really are a site to see

I recommend anyone to go out and see the world anytime you have an opportunity

Don’t keep yourself boxed in to anything

If it wasn’t for this philosophy I wouldn’t have been able to be at this place in my life or in my photography

I’m still a student and I learn something new almost everyday!

Make sure you feel good with the gear you bring with you as well if you decide to take a trip

I may have gotten different (better?) results with the A1 or if I had brought the digital cams, but…I don’t think I would’ve had a part of me within them as much

Kinda hard to explain but as always, thanks for checking out the post

PEACE!

2 thoughts on “The Nikon F3 and the Georgia Guidestones

Leave a Reply

