Eco Friendly Kodak XTOL Alternative?

featured, Film, Project

So as many of you have heard (or read) from my previous posts, i’m currently involved in a love affair with Kodak XTOL developer.

Ever since i first mixed my own and viewed the results at 1:1, i was hooked.

You can find more info on my previous post about it HERE

In my beliefs, i think if you are ever interested (or obsessed lol) on a subject you go and research and learn and seek more info..get involved in discussions, read forums, etc..

This has led me to so many projects i’ve taken up on my own that definitely made me a better experienced photographer.

It even helped me to become a part of the sort of photography i felt most comfortable in, this being Street Photography.

But we all know there are many different type of photography out there, just do a quick Google search and you’ll find thousands of articles literally.

Well in any case, back to my enjoyment of working with XTOL.

So it’s pretty much my developer of choice (partly because i still have so much of it as well lol) and I’ve been researching other ways to use it as well as looking at others results. It’s always good to check out others’ work, it helps to inspire me and keep me motivated.

Recently i heard something that may or may not be true, KODAK MAY BE DISCONTINUING XTOL AND D76

I was kind of in shock, gotta admit, but i think we’re all dreading the day where we hear all these film developing companies going the way of digital..and dropping film altogether.

So again, i’m not even sure if this was true but IMMEDIATELY i sought out some alternatives and i found something very interesting from Freestyle Photographic Supplies.

It was something called Eco Pro LegacyPro Ascorbic Acid Powder Black/ White Film Developer that supposedly is created from the same formula as XTOL!

First thing i thought was “damn…that’s a really long name. If any one asks what i use instead of saying XTOL i have to say Eco Pro LegacyPro Ascorbic Acid Powder Black/ White Film Developer?”

At that point, i decided I’ll just say the Eco Friendly XTOL and then decided to look a bit further into it.

Here are some of the specs i discovered from it’s description:

The Ecopro LegacyPro Ascorbic Acid Powder Black/ White Film Developer (Makes 5 L) is a 2-part powder black and white film developer. LegacyPro gives you high image quality, fine grain and sharpness equivalent to Kodak Xtol black and white film developer. The mix dissolves in room temperature water and is meant to be used at full strength or diluted in a ratio of 1:1. Part A must be completely dissolved before adding Part B. The quantity provided will make 5.0 liters (1.3 gallons) of developer. This product is hydroquinone free.

2-part powder black and white film developer
High image quality, fine grain and sharpness equivalent to Kodak Xtol black and white film developer
Dissolves in room temperature water and is meant to be used at full strength or diluted in a ratio of 1:1
Part A must be completely dissolved before adding Part B
Quantity provided will make 5.0 liters (1.3 gallons) of developer
Hydroquinone free

So after some further research, and also noticing it was a bit cheaper, i decided i wanted to try this out.

ECO-Friendly is always a good thing in my opinion, and you know me, I’m always up for a new project.

At the time of me looking at all of this, i thought “Eh, let me get a packet or 3” lol

So i then found out that B&H Photos also carried this brand and decided to purchase 3 of the packets for testing purposes 🙂

And ON TOP OF ALL THIS, i will be receiving my first official Leica lens in the mail tomorrow.

After using lenses from Canon, Voigtlander, Zeiss on my M2, M3 and M6 i was finally able to save up and purchase this lil beauty of a lens

1000x1000(2)

This is a Leica Summicron 50mm F2 Dual Range Lens

So happy to finally be working with one of these amazing lenses and truly experience what many say is the “Leica Look” when shooting.

I’m so used to working with 35mm lenses, it may take some getting used to but I’m sure I’ll get used to it quickly.

So there it is, here comes the beginning of another project folks.

I will be testing out this 50mm Summicron F2 on my Leica M3 and developing using this ECO Friendly XTOL alternative.

If i do not like what i see as far as the results, i will upload them anyway to the site so everyone can see.

I had also noticed there is a D76 alternative made by the same company called LegacyPro-L-76, which is interesting.

Anyone here ever have any experience with these LegacyPro developers?

Feel free to comment below with any results and/or opinions you might have.

Enjoy the rest of your day everyone and stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “Eco Friendly Kodak XTOL Alternative?

    1. Yea i agree, with so many people using it. I doubt it’ll be discontinued very soon but at that PRICE i had to pick up a couple packets to how they perform.

      What is your developer of choice by the way? I keep hearing Rodinal is like the supreme choice lol but haven’t had any experience with it

      1. I’ve only had experience with D-76, in my college photography class. Absolutely no complaints. I even got to the point where I’d be a bit lax on precise timing, or sometimes I was either pushing/pulling the film by 1/3 stop or so just to see what it would look like, and it was always fantastic. I primarily shoot color negative though, and am not set up for processing at home, so I’m sending out all my b&w right now.

Leave a Reply

