Results of the Cross Processing Development

featured, Film, Project, The Streets

Hello Everyone out there in Photography land

Well..the experiment has been completed and the film has been developed, fixed, dried and scanned πŸ™‚

Before i show you the results, let me tell you a little bit of the procedure i went through.

So i had first heard about this tactic through a bored night in some Flickr discussion forums.

Everyone had a routine and posted some pretty good results, so i immediately wanted to take a crack at it.

If you haven’t yet read my previous post about this project, here’s the LINK

By using the link i shared in my previous post which suggested using the development time for HP5+ when developing all C-41 type films in Black and White Developer, i first got my temp and time as if i was using XTOL 1:1.

So if i was doing a regular development for Ilford HP5+ with XTOL 1:1, my development time would be 12 minutes at 68 Fahrenheit.

You can see where i got these figures here: Film Developing Time

I did a prewash of the roll once i got it in the tank with room temperature water for about a minute and a half with about 2 seconds of agitation towards the end.

I noticed a purple-ish color to the water that i poured out of the tank as well, i believe this is normal as there are more chemicals on color film than black and white.

So then i went through the (MY) regular routine:

Poured in my developer
Constant slow agitation the first minute
Slow agitation for 10 seconds at the beginning of every following minute.
Remember also, i had to do this for 12 minutes as per the chart

After that was done, i poured in regular tap water that i use as my Stop Bath

Constant agitation for 30 seconds, then pour out

Then it was time for the Fixing:

8 minutes all together, Constant agitation the first minute, 10 seconds at the beginning of each following minute UNTIL i got to the 5th minute.

I let the Fixer work it’s magic with no agitation for the last 3 minutes

After that, removed my Fixer (Kodak Rapid Fixer) and poured back into the container for reuse later on.

I did the washing and the drying which took about an hour and half total and AT LAST had my results.

Without further delay, here is what i received.

Keep in mind, this was an experiment and some of these pictures aren’t my personal best..but check it out!

Scan-140828-0003

Scan-140828-0005

Scan-140828-0006

Scan-140827-0006

Scan-140827-0007

Scan-140827-0008

I’d like to give a quick shoutout to Bellamy Hunt at JapanCameraHunter.com because without him i wouldn’t have decided to buy this Fujifilm Superia 400. I had been watching an interview of his where he stated how great this film really was..and it looks like it’s great when cross processed too!

I really love the way the shadows and the dark areas are represented in these photos, i believe the XTOL may have assisted in this area as well.

Scan-140828-0008

Scan-140828-0009

Scan-140828-0011

Scan-140828-0012

Cool Shirt Bro

Scan-140828-0014

I have to admit i did not know the results would be this good.

It kind of makes me want to experiment a bit more and see how the results would be if i decided to PUSH the film as well to hmm..maybe let’s say..1600? πŸ™‚

I think i might keep that project in my pocket for now πŸ˜‰ while i work on some other things and continue to evolve as a photographer.

All shots were taken with my Leica M6 and Voigtlander 35mm F1.7 Ultron lens.

Hope everyone enjoyed the post and pics, feel free to comment below

P.S.

What is this Caffenol thing i keep hearing about…? Uh oh lol a sign of things to come..?

4 thoughts on “Results of the Cross Processing Development

    1. Thanks Joe, i am now a super fan of this film. I ordered more rolls from eBay as soon as i noticed these results. I will be working with this film for a while as a backup to Portra!

  1. Nice results! I have a few roles of colour 24 exp sitting around expired 5 years ago. Here in Aus it’s $13 developing colour film, or $2 with my own chems, so I now have a way to use this film economically.

Leave a Reply

